Grandkids display

So for those of you who regularly read this blog, this is the post to which I previously referred that will explain how I made the gifts for the grandparents.  I wish I could claim credit for every aspect of it, but alas, I cannot.  The final product, though, is all my own and came about as I was mulling on Christmas presents while showering one day. While perusing Pinterest one fine day I found this tutorial for a present a lady did for her parents.  If you don’t want to click the link, the basic gist is that she created vertical wood boards, pasted a picture of each kid with their spouse at the top, and then under each picture pasted individual pictures of each grandchild associated with that spouse.  It was a wonderfully cute idea; however I didn’t like how limiting it was.  What if there were more grandkids later? Then you’d have to do THE WHOLE THING all over again! In both mine and my husband’s families it is most likely that there will be more grandkids in the future (Lord willing) so I didn’t want to make something that would take a huge amount of time and end up being outdated in a month (a likely possibility as my sister-in-law is 7 months along.) I needed something that would allow for ease and flexibility.  So this is what I came up with:

My mother's gift

My mother-in-law's gift...these came out better than I hoped!

There’s only three grandkids in my family, hence why my mother’s gift is so much smaller. What can I say? The Menicuccis know how to reproduce. 🙂

So here’s the how to: You will need…

1 wood board (you can get fancy ones at Hobby Lobby but I just used a plain old wood one that my husband had in our garage…I just recommend it be sturdy enough to hold quite a bit of weight)

4×4 tiles for each picture

Mod Podge

Some small and large paint brushes

Clear spray paint

Acrylic paint

Picture hooks

Picture frame backings (for hanging the board)

Ribbon

Hot glue gun

For the tiles portion of the project, I’m going to direct you to The Frugal Girls’ Blog on how to make photo coasters.  I followed their instructions on how to do this for the tiles portion, although I don’t think I used as many layers of the clear spray paint as they did because icy drinks wouldn’t be going on my tiles.  I think I only used 3 layers, which was plenty. And despite what they say it only took a couple of hours for my spray paint to dry in the garage, not the full days she elaborates.

The next step is to add the hooks to the tiles.  If you plan on having more than one row you will obviously need a hook at the top and bottom of each tile.

The hooks for the tiles

Gorilla Glue

I found the hooks at Lowe’s for dirt cheap, and my first run through I tried using Gorilla Glue that I also found at Lowe’s to adhere the hooks to the backs of the tiles.  It did not work so well.

How to glue the hooks to the tiles

Gluing all the hooks at once is super easy and super fast

Once I started using the hot glue gun the hooks adhered MUCH better, although I did add an extra layer with the Gorilla Glue just for more support and peace of mind.  Be careful with the Gorilla Glue as it expands as it dries…if you add too much you will have a huge clump of glue on the back of your tile. But once you add the hooks your tiles are done.

For the wood board portion I followed this tutorial about how to transfer fonts you like onto wood…there’s lots of different tutorials out there on how to do this, and it worked pretty well.  I first painted my board black (of course) then printed out the words using Ambiente as my font and size 400 as my size.  I think I used size 325 on my parents’ board.  Then I just followed the tutorial using white paint.

The finished board

The other finished board with the hooks screwed in. I screwed them in by hand...way easy!

Simple, huh? After the paint was dry I screwed the same type of hooks I had glued to the backs of the tiles into the bottom of the wood board.  Then I cut ribbon equal lengths and one for each tile and presto! My gift was done.  It was so easy, really inexpensive, and a huge hit with both my mother and my mother-in-law.  And it’s ready for future grandkids!

If you have any questions feel free to leave a comment.  My nice yahoo account always lets me know when one of you posts something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

