Another blog on the misses!

It’s been a couple of weeks since I last updated everyone on how the girls were doing. So I’ll do this periodically until they come home, and then when I get the opportunity to update everyone on their antics I certainly will. šŸ™‚ For those of you who don’t have experience with the NICU I’ll try to expand on what information you may already have. It’s not as critical as I had been led to believe. Yes, the girls have good days and they have not-so-good days. But nothing that has given us any real cause for alarm. Thankfully, they seem to switch when they have their problems; i.e. Abigail has a problematic day and Eva has a smooth day, and vice versa.

What’s amusing for us is the nurses and doctors in the NICU treat some things as more grim than they turn out to be. I wrote on the last post about Eva’s brain hemorrhage scare. We got pulled aside a couple of days ago by the nurse practitioner that they needed to x-ray Eva’s belly because they were very concerned that its large size was an indication that there was a hole in her intestines and air was escaping into her body. Needless to say, this is a very bad thing. But Kevin and I didn’t worry this time; we are confident God is doing a great work through our girls still. So we sat and waited for the results of the x-ray; it was nothing but gas. The same exact thing happened to Abigail today. Also, I was told when I arrived at the hospital this morning that both girls had a heart murmur that they had heard, and they both were going to get echocardiograms to confirm that they both had PDA. So again, I waited for what I was sure would turn out to be nothing. And once again, God didn’t fail me. Both girls still have no PDA. So my advice to anyone who ends up having a baby in the NICU is to listen to what they have to say, but take it with a grain of salt. They are very knowledgeable, so I feel good about the girls being there. And we do have something going for us: the promise that God is taking care of our girls. Plus, we know that any freaking out on our part can’t be good for the girls.

And both of them are starting to get so big! As of yesterday Eva was back to her birth weight: 1 lb. 12 oz. Abigail has already surpassed her birth weight and is at 1 lb. 9 oz. Still very small when compared to a normal baby, but they are bigger than when they were born. They would have been 28 weeks yesterday. And both of them have opened their eyes! We love spending time with them and holding them. And God answered another prayer: they have a primary nurse during the day and one at night! Thank you, Morgan and Liz! God totally had His hand on that one. šŸ™‚

Keep praying for the girls. These next few months will be hard. Driving to the hospital back and forth is exhausting, not to mention the pumping I have to do several times a day. But we are very blessed with our girls. Thank you everyone for your prayers, love, and support!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Charles Wilkinson
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 23:44:36

    Laurel and Kevin… I agree about taking things with a grain of salt. It is a good thing that they do get alarmed and look into things further… sometimes it helps to continue to rule out those things and with each new test, they keep getting a picture of what is going on inside (with xrays and mri etc) and can compare them with previous ones. We too had a primary nurse, Chris Jenkins, who was “Joe’s first Girl Friend.” We still keep in touch with her. Take photos of these people with you and with the girls for the girls when they are older… So they will know whose hands they were blessed to be in! We are all thinking of you! Glad things are going well!

    Reply

  2. Sharon Gartley
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 02:10:23

    Hi. I am a faraway (Ohio) friend of Jeanne, and have been following her updates about the babies. She posted a link to this page and I wanted to tell you how your faith blesses me, and how your beautiful, tiny daughters touch my heart. I am so glad they are doing well! I continue to pray for you all!

    I just wanted to let you know that a stranger in Ohio is praying for you. Hugs and blessings,

    Sharon

    Reply

  3. Liz
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 03:55:51

    Praying for the girls often each day! And so blessed to be part of their care team. I’m here for you guys, whatever you need šŸ™‚

    In Him
    Liz

    Reply

  4. Sharon Chastain
    Nov 29, 2010 @ 20:37:56

    Hi Laurel and Kevin,
    This is my first comment to you but I’ve been reading your posts and praying for you ever since we started getting info before the girls were born. You are also on our prayer chain at our church. I hope that God is truly holding up your arms through the prayers of others. God bless you and those darling baby girls!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

