A roller coaster ride it has been

Well, with all that’s been happening I guess I’ll be posting on here more often. This is just the easiest way for me to get word out to everyone about what has happened. It keeps me from having to tell the same long story over and over again, which in itself can be wearying. Suffice it to say that everything is good and stable for now, but these last 53 hours or so were certainly hectic and a little scary.

On Tuesday night/Wednesday morning I had a significant amount of blood loss, which puzzled us since I had experienced absolutely none the night before. I wasn’t concerned, but I’m not a doctor and losing about 250 cc’s worth of blood is apparently a lot. So after I sent Kevin to work on Wednesday morning our doctor came in and said that he was moving me back to labor and delivery for constant monitoring. I was not thrilled with the idea since I had been so miserable last time I was there, but a good mother makes sacrifices for her children, so back I went. I finished off breakfast reluctantly (thank goodness I did!) and got settled. One of the perinatologists, Dr. Ruma, came in and updated me on the gravity of the situation: I had lost enough blood to concern them greatly, and if it continued to happen then into the OR I would go for them to deliver the girls. Obviously it was way sooner than we wanted our girls to come. The chances of survival are not that great, and the possibility of a long term disability manifesting itself is greater at an earlier gestational age. And the biggest shame is that the girls are doing fantastic; it’s just mommy that’s causing all of the problems now. We get daily ultrasounds (called BPPs, or Biophyical Profiles) and each one shows how well the girls are doing. Oh, and by the way, we got some approximate weights on the girls during our big ultrasound on Tuesday. Abigail weighs about 562 grams (1 lb 4 oz) and Eva weighs 672 grams (1 lb 8 oz.), both way above what the NICU considers to be the cutoff for survival, which is 400 grams. That was music to our ears, and another reassurance that our girls are just developing wonderfully. What can I say? We serve a good and faithful God. 🙂

Since there was a concern that I would have to get a cesarean I was restricted to a clear liquid diet: water, sprite, jello, juice, and chicken broth. And believe it or not that was actually the easy part of my time in labor and delivery! I was put back on the monitors so they could watch the girls’ heart rates and my contractions 24/7, and THAT’S when things get uncomfortable. There is no moving when the monitors are on. No shifting from side to side, absolutely nothing, or else they will lose the heartbeats and then the nurses have to trudge back in and find them again. Thankfully almost every nurse we had was awesome and really did everything they could to make me comfortable, but once again my back was killing me within hours. Visitors helped to make the time pass (both my niece and nephew were brought by for a visit, and they were quite entertaining!) but it was still a little rough. Anyway, having all those monitors hooked up to my belly and being uncomfortable did not make for a restful night. To add to that around 5:30 in the morning the night nurse walked in and told me I had been having contractions for the past hour every 2-4 minutes. Yikes! I had felt them, but there was no pain associated with them, so I didn’t know what to think. With a high risk twin pregnancy one can never be too cautious, and they definitely wanted to make sure I wasn’t going into labor. I wasn’t, and the cause of the contractions was all the bleeding I had been having, so none of the doctors were too surprised but they still weren’t happy with everything that was going on. They decided to put me on magnesium sulfate to stop the contractions, and if you’ve never been on that stuff I seriously hope and pray you don’t have to. You basically feel like you’ve got the flu while you’re on it, especially for the first 20 minutes when they give you the high dose. It was yucky stuff, and Dr. Ruma came in later and told me he would have me taken off in a few hours. Unfortunately he was overruled by the OB, and my magnesium sulfate misery lasted until about 4:00 this morning when I woke up with some difficulty breathing. Until that time I was out of it. My mom told me later it was if I had been drunk. People came in and poke and prodded me, had loud conversations and I missed all of it. And not to mention that I emotionally lost it a couple of times. I consider myself to be a strong person (though Kevin calls me Fix Or Repair Daily every time I tell him I’m built Ford tough) but it was starting to get to me. Me being out of it for half of the day is the only thing that made my day bearable. I actually found out this morning that my clear liquid diet had been cancelled yesterday morning and the nurse just never bothered to check it. Good thing she wasn’t here this morning because I actually may have chewed her out for putting me through more agony for an extra 24 hours!

So to wrap things up, once they took me off the magnesium sulfate I started to feel much better. I was able to get up and use the restroom (for anyone who has read the Hiding Place, the restroom was to me what the fleas were to Corrie Ten Boom; thank God for the fleas!) instead of being restricted to a bed pan, and I got to eat real food again! I’m still having some bleeding, but it’s considerably less than what I was experiencing on Tuesday night. I’m now back in a regular room, although they kicked us out of the room with a double bed. I’m gonna have to fight for that one tomorrow. If I do happen to have another night of heavy bleeding they will still go ahead and deliver the girls, because it won’t do anyone much good to have me in peril; the girls and Kevin all need me to be healthy. If we do end up having to deliver early and the girls have problems later on then we are confident that God has given us the strength to deal with that. Having worked with Deaf kids I know that having kids with difficulties like that is not the end of the world. Some of the greatest kids I know have “disabilities” and believe me, parents can underestimate how much those kinds of kids are capable of. And long term disabilities could mean something as trifling as asthma. We have so many people praying for these girls, and several of them feel like the Holy Spirit has given them confirmation that Eva and Abigail are going to be okay, although what that exactly means still remains hidden. God usually doesn’t show His children the whole plan, but usually it’s just the next step, just to keep our own faith strong. I personally feel like this is going to be a rough time that will ultimately allow God to manifest His glory. It’s all in His hands anyway, and we are confident that God has already done and will continue to do good works through our daughters. I want to reiterate that I love having visitors come, but in light of the past few days it would probably be best if people contact me or Kevin first before coming down. That way no one will go to the wrong room, or come at a time when I’m completely exhausted and incoherent and probably not the best conversationalist. I do want to thank you all for your thoughts and prayers. The Bible promises that, “Where two or more are gathered in my my name, there I will be among them,” (Matthew 18:20.) How can these girls not be in His care when so many people are lovingly putting them before Him? And just know that Kevin and I love you all. We may not know you, but we love you all and are glad you love us and our daughters enough to be there for us in small ways. We are just thanking God for every day that the girls stay in the “oven,” because it means that much more of an opportunity for their success. Thank you all.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janey Reinhardt
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 03:45:19

    “And the biggest shame is that the girls are doing fantastic; it’s just mommy that’s causing all of the problems now.”

    Laurel, you are doing an AMAZING job.

    I was in those stupid monitors for half of a healthy labor, and I was about ready to hook the heartbeat monitor up to my doula so it would stop screeching every time I scratched my nose. Of course, a baby’s heart beat is supposed to be so much faster than an adult’s, so maybe I would rent someone’s cat and put the monitor on it instead.

    And you’re not even COMPLAINING!!! I think you’re doing a marvelous job.

    It’s hard work to build one baby, let alone two! (and I misunderstood at first and thought they had you on nothing but liquid diet the whole time you were there, and I thought, “maybe it would be fun to pretend to be that early Christian saint who lived on top of a pillar. He probably had to sit still and not eat much, too.”) You are doing everything you can to support your body and protect your girls, and no one can ask anything more of you.

    Reply

  2. Ruth M. Romo
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 13:54:28

    Good morning Laurel & Kevin & babies!! Another day in the oven girls, ok?! Laurel & Kevin- I’m praying for you and the girls and just want to say Laurel, you are doing an amazing job being a good patient. I can’t imagine being still but there you are doing it!! My mom was bed-ridden with me for a few months and look at me now!! So, God is on your side. Take care. I’m planning on being in ABQ Nov 20th for the DB Holiday celebration. I’d love to visit you all where ever you may be but will play that by ear. God Bless, you are continually in my prayers and thank you for keeping all of us updated. Love you four! Ruth

    Reply

  3. Mom menicucci
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 15:10:27

    I can attest to the fact that both Kevin and laurel are trusting God for His highest good for these babies. Their faith has been an inspiration to all who come in contact with them. They both already are amazing parents. To God be the Glory. Keep up the good fight guys and you will with God’s amazing strength. Love you beyond words.

    Reply

  4. Stephanie Valdez-Martinez
    Oct 30, 2010 @ 19:39:57

    Hi Laurel, What a BEAUTIFUL GODLY Woman you have grown up to be! Since reading on your Mom’s fb wall about you and your girls, I have been praying for you all and I will continue to pray. HUGS!

    Reply

  5. Lori Hickox
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 12:48:13

    Hey, girlfriend. I’m so proud of you. Thank you for sharing what is happening for all of us. You are constantly in my prayers! You are a shining witness to God’s grace, I feel so blessed to know you and to be a part of your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

