Now at the hospital!

Update update….so we are all checked into the hospital now. The reason we are here is because they want to not only monitor the girls but they want to monitor me as well. When we saw the perinatologist on Wednesday, he actually said the girls were doing well enough that he didn’t see the need to put me in the hospital yet. That was until I told him about the bleeding. It put a whole new spin on things. Although the bleeding hasn’t been excessive, it has been nightly. So he basically gave me a day to wrap up some things, and after visiting our OB we were sent directly to the hospital to check in. So here I am! And I’m determined to make the best of it. I’m hoping to be here for a couple of months, because the longer I’m here means the longer the girls stay in me, and the healthier they, get, too. A nurse told me today to think of it as one day in the womb is two less days they will have to spend in the NICU. I love that family has promised to spend lots of time here to help alleviate the boredom, because I’m pretty much stuck in bed until the girls arrive. The days may get a little long.

After talking to another one of the perinatologists (there are a total of five that we will be seeing) it looks like I’ll be getting daily ultrasounds, and I really have to be careful about what my body is doing. Any contractions, heavy bleeding, any changes and I need to let someone know right away. As I said in an earlier post, the girls will be delivered by a caesarean, and Kevin and I are in agreement that whatever needs to be done for the safety of the girls is what we will do. Every measurement we get on them shows that Eva’s fluid levels are at a normal level, and Abigail’s is still below 3 cm. But at least they are stable! The doctors are still calling it Stage 1 for TTTS, but the one we saw today said the stability of it gives her a good feeling that we will go at least a minimum of another month. We could even make it to 34 weeks, which would be absolutely wonderful. Of course, I’ll be huge at that point, but it’s a small price to pay for two healthy daughters! 🙂

We have had quite an adventure since we’ve arrived here. The first night they put us in a room with only one bed, so Kevin had to use the pull out bed from the chair in the room to sleep. And I’m told it was pretty uncomfortable. So the staff here was incredibly nice and moved us into a room with two beds. Kevin was very much looking forward to having a good night’s sleep. And then I had a bleeding episode that seemed normal to me, but the nurses deemed to be problematic. So I spent last night in Labor and Delivery so they could monitor the girls all night. It was pretty uncomfortable for us both. Poor Kevin had to sleep on the couch in the room. I had to sleep in the same position all night (by this morning my back was killing me because I couldn’t move all night long) hooked up to an IV and several monitors, and nurses came in every couple of hours to check up on things. We had a rough night and got very little sleep, and we are definitely hoping we don’t have to do that again! The nice thing is they said the girls looked great all night. We found out that at 24 weeks it’s next to impossible to get both heartbeats found, and yet they were able to for Abigail and Eva. So God has really had His hand on them, and for that we are thankful. Every ultrasound shows us that they aren’t having any major problems, and as long as they are healthy and I am healthy we will just deal with the bleeding for now. Now that I’m on modified bed rest we are hoping the bleeding will stop soon.

I can’t thank everyone enough for your prayers, support, and encouragement. So many people have invested in these two little girls that I’ve been truly touched. People at work have been phenomenally understanding and generous. Friends and family have already stopped by to visit. I have six doctors who easily have over 100 years of experience between them with their watchful eyes on our daughters. The nursing staff here has been so friendly and accomodating that things have been remarkably easier for us. And last but certainly not least, my husband has been a trouper for this whole thing. I’m very glad me being here takes a huge weight off his shoulders, but him working and spending the rest of his time here has got to be hard. Plus he still has to take care of things at home. And if it’s going to be a while before anything happens then I can only imagine how wearying it will be on him. I’m really blessed with such a great man.

I suspect our stay here at the hospital will be somewhat eventful. Hopefully not too much so! If anyone wants to visit please let me know. I will be here 24/7 so visitors are always welcome. Much love to everyone. I can’t wait for you all to meet our girls.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Mom menicucci
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 20:07:29

    Hi Laurel, it’s dad….I wanted to comment on how much of a blessing you are to all around you! Susie showed me how to respond to you….your comments about Kevin are a wonderful testimony to your generous and kind heart…I know Kevin loves you and Eva and Abigail so much, also.

    You are in our daily thoughts and prayers, as you know, and your witness is a blessing to all who are involved in your life…

    see you tomorrow, Laurel,

    love,
    dad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

